

JOINT CONCLUSIONS

by the Co-Chairs of the Meeting

BUILDING THE EUROPEAN RESEARCH AREA IN PARTNERSHIP WITH TURKEY

Brussels, 24 November 2016





The «Building the European Research Area in partnership with Turkey» high level meeting was hosted by the European Commission in Brussels on 24 November 2016. This meeting was a follow up to the successful event in Ankara held on 8-9 October 2015, which concluded that all stakeholders should increase their efforts to intensify the partnership between the European Research Area (ERA) and the Turkish Research Area (TARAL) to establish a high-performing research and innovation capacity in Turkey and in the EU, and to build a strong public science base where researchers, scientific knowledge and technology can freely circulate.

The 2016 meeting brought together senior representatives of the Alliance of Turkish Research Universities (Bilkent University, Boğaziçi University, İstanbul Technical University, Koç University, Middle East Technical University, Sabancı University), TÜBİTAK, Science Europe, the League of European Research Universities, the European University Association, the Helsinki Group on Gender in Research and Innovation, the Conference of European Schools for Advanced Engineering Education and Research, the European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures, the European Research Facilities association, the Strategic Forum for International STI Cooperation, the Steering Group on Human Resources and Mobility, and the European Commission's Directorate-General for Research and Innovation.

The meeting was co-chaired on the EU side by Mr Robert-Jan Smits, Director-General of the European Commission's Directorate General for Research and Innovation, and on the Turkish side by Prof. Dr. Mustafa Verşan Kök, President of ODTÜ on behalf of the Alliance of Turkish Research Universities (ALTRU), and Prof. Dr. A. Arif Ergin, President of TÜBİTAK. The list of participants is attached.

The meeting confirmed the commitment of all participants to intensify and accelerate the alignment of the ERA and the TARAL based on the following principles:

- A. Effective national research systems based on adequate investments in science, technology and innovation, excellence-based allocation of funds, adequate mechanisms for industryacademia collaboration, autonomy of universities, and academic freedom;
- B. An open labour market for researchers based on open transparent recruitment procedures, sustainable and transparent career trajectories, and facilitated mobility of researchers across institutions, sectors and countries;
- C. Gender equality in research, at all seniority levels as well as gender mainstreaming in research;
- D. Optimal circulation and transfer of scientific knowledge across countries and disciplines and between academia and industry, including open access to scientific publications and research data;
- E. International cooperation to extend in partnership the frontiers of knowledge and jointly address the grand societal challenges which our societies are facing.

The meeting agreed that a closer linking of the ERA and the TARAL is vital to ensure that research systems in Turkey and the EU can jointly address societal challenges and contribute to lasting economic growth and competitiveness at all levels (local, regional, national and global). It is also agreed that participation of Turkish Universities in European ERA Stakeholder organisations is essential to foster exchange of good practices and mutual learning on ERA priority implementation.

All participants underlined the important role of Horizon 2020 to facilitate the alignment of the ERA and the TARAL, for supporting mobility and for developing long lasting partnerships between EU and Turkish researchers.

It was agreed that the next meeting will be held in Turkey. The members of the Alliance of Turkish Research Universities will continue to contribute to the preparation of a national ERA action plan that will be discussed at the next meeting.

List of Participants

Alliance of Turkish Research Universities (ALTRU)

Prof. Dr. Abdullah Atalar	President, Bilkent University
Prof. Dr. Cevdet Aykanat	Associate Provost, Bilkent University
Prof. Dr. Ezhan Karaşan	Dean of Faculty of Engineering, Bilkent University
Prof. Dr. Ayşın Ertüzün	Vice President, Boğaziçi University
Prof. Taner Bilgiç	Faculty of Industrial Engineering, Boğaziçi University
Prof. Dr. Alper Ünal	Vice President, İstanbul Technical University
Prof. Dr. Levent Trabzon	Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, İstanbul Technical University
Prof. Dr. Umran Savaș İnan	President, Koç University
Prof. Dr. İrşadi Aksun	Vice President, Koç University
Elif Ebru Tan	Research, Project Development & Technology Transfer Director, Koç University
Prof. Dr. Mustafa Verşan Kök	President, METU
Prof. Dr. Gönül Turhan-Sayan	Vice President, METU
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ahmet Yozgatlıgil	Assistant to the President, METU
Prof. Dr. Ayşe Gülden Kadioğlu Aksel	Acting President, Sabancı University
Dr. Volkan Özgüz	Director of Nanotechnology Research and Application Center, Sabancı University
Prof.Dr. Meltem Müftüler-Baç	Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Jean Monnet Chair

ТÜВІТАК

Prof. Dr. A. Arif Ergin	President
Dr. Orkun Hasekioğlu	Vice President
Mr. Hakan Karataş	Director for International Cooperation
Mr. Mirat Satoğlu	Director for Turkish Academic Network and Information Center
Dr. Selda Ulutaș Aydoğan	Head of EU Framework Programmes Department, Directorate for International Cooperation
Ms. Hande Alpaslan	Head of Unit for Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) Governance Mechanisms, Directorate for STI Policies

ERA Stakeholders

Ms Amanda Crowfoot	Director, Science Europe
Mr Kurt Deketelaere	President, League of European Research Universities (LERU)
Mr Thomas Jorgensen	Senior Policy Coordinator, European University Association (EUA)
Ms Jacqueline Barbara	Helsinki Group on Gender in Research and Innovation
Mr David Bohmert	Secretary-General, Conference of European Schools for Advanced Engineering Education and Research (CESAER)
Prof Giorgio Rossi	Chair, European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESRFI)
Prof Carlo Rizzuto	Chair, European Research Facilities association (ERF)
Ms Rozenn Saunier	Chair, Strategic Forum for International STI Cooperation (SFIC)
Ms Eeva Kaunismaa	Steering Group on Human Resources and Mobility (SGHRM)

European Commission, Directorate-General for Research and Innovation

Mr Robert-Jan Smits	Director-General Directorate-General for Research and Innovation European Commission
Mr Kostas Glinos	Head of Unit Strategy, EFTA and enlargement countries, Russia, Asia and Pacific
Mr Bernhard Fabianek	Policy Officer Strategy, EFTA and enlargement countries, Russia, Asia and Pacific
Ms Fabienne Gautier	Head of Unit Open Science and ERA policy
Ms Ana Arana Antelo	Head of Unit Science with and for society
Mr Philippe Froissard	Deputy Head of Unit Research infrastructure
Mr Daniel Spichtinger	Policy Officer Data, Open Access and Foresight